Russia, Iran, Turkey sign on ‘de-escalation zones’ in Syria

Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan, left, speaks to Russian President Vladimir Putin, right, as he leaves after their meeting in Putin's residence in the Russian Black Sea resort of Sochi, Russia, Wednesday, May 3, 2017. The presidents of Russia and Turkey held talks on the situation in Syria and also the restoration of full economic ties between their two countries. (Alexei Nikolsky/Sputnik, Kremlin Pool Photo via AP)

BEIRUT (AP) — Turkey, Iran and Russia have signed an agreement calling for the setting up of four “de-escalation zones” in war-torn Syria in the latest attempt to reduce violence in the Arab country.

But as officials from the three countries backing rival sides in the conflict signed the agreement on Thursday at the Syria cease-fire talks in Kazakhstan, some members of the Syrian opposition delegation shouted in protest and walked out of the conference room in Astana, the Kazakh capital.

The opposition has protested Iran’s participation at the conference, accusing it of being a party in the war that’s killed some 400,000 people.

The Kazakhstan agreement calls for setting up four zones in northern, central and southern Syria. However, no details were provided about how violence will be reduced in these areas.