Neal and Bairstow honored

Neal and Bairstow honored

ALBUQUERQUE (KRQE) – One day after falling short with the Mountain West, Lobos forward Cameron Bairstow is named District 8 Player of the Year by the United States Basketball Writer’s Association.

Bairstow, the only Mountain West player who is a finalist for a national award, won the league scoring title this season. He averaged 20.3 points per game.

District 8 also honored Bairstow by naming him and Lobos guard Kendall Williams to its 10 member All District team.

Lobos head coach Craig Neal is the District 8 Coach of the Year. Neal led the Lobos to a 15 and 3 Mountain West record and 24 and 6 overall mark in this his first year as head coach.

District 8 includes all division one institutions in New Mexico, Wyoming, Idaho, Utah, Nevada, Montana and Colorado. provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Users who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

blog comments powered by Disqus